List of Electricity Distribution Companies, DISCOS in Nigeria

Which company is responsible for the supply of electricity in your home? If you have no clue about the answer to this question, then it is high time you know your DisCo. The stable supply of electricity has been a major challenge suffered by Nigerians. Hundreds of years ago, the use of electricity was not common in Nigeria but today, you can find electricity in almost every home you visit in Nigeria.
The supply of electricity in Nigeria is made possible by the Electricity Distribution Companies (DisCos). There are over eleven electricity distribution companies in Nigeria. This article reveals the list of all the electricity distribution companies in Nigeria.

1. Ikeja Distribution Company
Ikeja Electric Plc is the largest power distribution company in Nigeria. This electricity distribution company is based in Ikeja, the present capital city of Lagos State. The company was established on November 1st, 2013, following the privatization of the Nigerian power sector. It is stated that Ikeja Electric Plc provides electricity to over 700,000 customers.

2. Enugu Electrical Distribution Company (EEDC)
This electricity company is a household name in the South-Eastern part of the country. It maintains a wide coverage of Abia, Anambra, Imo, Enugu, and Ebonyi state. Enugu Electrical Distribution Company is responsible for energy supply and distribution in the five states mentioned above. It provides electricity services to more than twenty million people.

3. Eko Distribution Company
Eko Distribution Company is a miniature electricity company that offers power supply and distribution services to Lagos State, and some parts of Ogun State. Their head office is at 24/25 Marina Road, Lagos Island, Lagos State. Customers can contact them by mail at [email protected] or telephone on +234 708 065 5555.

4. Port Harcourt Distribution Company
This electricity distribution company aims to provide top-notch utility services to Nigerians. The company covers Rivers state, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, and Bayelsa state. This company provides electricity service to more than 14 million in the aforementioned states.

5. Ibadan Distribution Company
This company was established in November 2013 shortly after the privatization of the Nigerian power sector. The Ibadan Distribution Company covers Kwara, Oyo, Ogun, and Osun state. It organized five business hubs across the federation and it has developed a strong partnership with Meralco Company, a major electric distribution company in the Philippines.

6. Benin Distribution Company
The Benin Distribution Company covers Delta, Edo, Ekiti, and Ondo state. It provides electric-related services to 13 million people and 4 million homes. The estimated coverage area of BEDC is 55,770sq kilometers.

7. Jos Distribution Company
This company is one of the power distributing companies in Nigeria. It covers Plateau, Bauchi, Benue, and Gombe state.

8. Yola Distribution Company
Yola Distribution Company was formally established in 2013 shortly after the privatization of the power sector in Nigeria. It covers Adamawa, Borno, Taraba, and Yobe State.

9. Kano Distribution Company
Kano Distribution Company is one of the electric distribution companies (Discos) present in Nigeria. It covers Kano, Katsina, and Jigawa state. It covers an area of 67,128sq kilometers and offers its services to over 20 million people.

10. Kaduna Distribution Company
This company provides Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara, and Kaduna state with electricity. The estimated customer population is estimated to be around 490,000. The CEO of this company is Garba Haruna and Alh. Yusuf Hamisu Abubakar holds the position of the chairman.

11. Abuja Distribution Company
This electric company was officially launched in November 2013, it covers Kogi state, Nassarawa state, Niger state, and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). The total area coverage of the company is 133,000sq kilometers.